Discover the Semoy valley
The commune of Thilay includes the small villages of Thilay, Naux, Nohan, Navaux and the Old Mills of Thilay. It had 1060 inhabitants on January 1, 2014.
Located in the north of the Ardennes department, 250 km from Paris, 150 from Brussels and Luxembourg, 300 from Amsterdam and 400 from Frankfurt or London.… About 20 km north of Charleville-Mézières, capital of the department , Thilay is at the heart of the Semoy Valley, a small river suitable for fishing and canoeing.
Many hiking or mountain biking trails as well as the Trans-Semoysian tourist route pass through this village surrounded by wooded hills. An ideal setting that will delight nature lovers eager for rural discoveries (former washhouses, forest houses, etc.).
History of the village
Located in the forest of the principality of Château-Regnault, the village was attached to the royal domain in 1629. Forges have existed there since that time. Even today, metallurgy is the main sector of activity in this village.
At the beginning of the 16th century, Jean de Louvain built a fortress on a steep hill, the Château de Linchamps. The castle was destroyed by royal troops in 1550, and rebuilt by the Duke of Guise a little later.
Thilay and the hamlet of Vieux Moulins de Thilay were a place of resistance during the Second World War.